Nicola Sturgeon announces list of 57 countries exempt from quarantine – and Spain isn’t on it

The Scottish government has announced its list of 57 countries exempt from mandatory two-week quarantine upon arrival into the country.

The list is nearly identical to the one issued by the UK’s Department for Transport (DfT) concerning arrivals into England, but with two omissions: Spain and Serbia.

Previously, a “double lock” prevented nearly all international travel: the Foreign Office (FCO) advised against all non-essential travel abroad, invalidating travel insurance, and a mandatory 14-day quarantine period was imposed on all inbound arrivals to the UK.

From 10 July, the quarantine will be lifted for those travelling to Scotland from designated

Read More

Backlash as Scots blocked from visiting Spain this summer

spain - getty
spain – getty

Travel industry bosses are hitting back over Nicola Sturgeon’s decision to leave Spain off Scotland’s list of approved travel corridors.

The First Minister said a requirement to quarantine for 14 days for any travellers arriving from the country would remain in force north of the border, even though it is being lifted in England from Friday.

Flights to Spain account for 60 per cent of leisure flights from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Southampton airports, according to Derek Provan, chief executive of AGS Airports, which owns all three; describing Spain’s absence from the list as a “glaring omission.”

Read More